ME welcomes four new faculty members for the 2013-14 year


Dr. Robert D. Gregg

Dr. Robert D. Gregg recently joined the faculty of Mechanical Engineering at UT Dallas, as an assistant professor and holds a joint appointment in Bioengineering. Dr. Gregg comes from the Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago and Northwestern University, where he spent two years as an Engineering into Medicine Postdoctoral Fellow and one year as a research scientist. His expertise includes robotics, prosthetics and orthotics, and nonlinear control theory. He is currently investigating the control mechanisms of bipedal locomotion in order to design high-performance wearable robots for restoring mobility in impaired populations.

A native of Southern California, Dr. Gregg received his bachelor's degree in electrical engineering and computer sciences from the University of California, Berkeley in 2006. He earned his master's and PhD in electrical and computer engineering from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 2007 and 2010, respectively. He holds a Career Award at the Scientific Interface from the Burroughs Wellcome Fund. Dr. Gregg is also a member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Control Systems Society and the IEEE Robotics & Automation Society.

Dr. Stefano Leonardi

Dr. Stefano Leonardi joined the faculty of Mechanical Engineering at UT Dallas in July 2013 as an associate professor. Most recently he was a faculty member at the University of Puerto Rico Mayaguez where he taught since 2006. He was promoted to associate professor of Mechanical Engineering in 2010. Dr. Leonardi obtained his PhD in theoretical and applied mechanics from the The Sapienza University of Rome in 2003. After graduation, he became a research associate with the department of Mechanical and Aeronautical Engineering at Sapienza from 2003 to 2006. He also held visiting positions at the University of Newcastle Australia and the University of Southampton in the UK.

Leonardi's expertise is in fluid mechanics, turbulence and transport phenomena. His current research interests are in turbulent flows over rough walls, heat transfer, turbomachinery, superhydrophobic surfaces, wind turbines and oceanography. His numerical results have contributed to an improved understanding of the effect of roughness on turbulent flows and heat transfer. His research is currently funded by National Science Foundation (Partnerships for International Research and Education), Office of Naval Research (Multidisciplinary University Research Initiative), National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, and Pratt & Whitney. He has been awarded three times with the departmental Distinguished Professor Award in 2006, 2007 and 2012, and he earned the departmental Distinguished Investigator Award in 2013 and the UPRM Best Professor Award from students in 2011.

Dr. Seung M. You

Dr. Seung M. You joined the faculty of Mechanical Engineering at UT Dallas in January 2013. Dr. You earned his master's and PhD from the University of Minnesota specializing in heat transfer. He then joined the faculty at The University of Texas at Arlington and established the Micro-scale Heat Transfer Laboratory. Dr. You is a Fellow of ASME and has served as a consultant for various industries.

Dr. You has extensive experience in thermal science. He has developed an experimental method to investigate nucleate boiling heat transfer mechanisms by measuring departing bubbles' frequency, size, and velocity. He also proposed the use of nanofluids and nanoporous structures for enhancing Critical Heat Flux, and invented a novel microporous coating that modifies the microstructure of surfaces resulting in a significant boiling and evaporation heat transfer improvement. His innovative micro/nano-scale thermal science technologies have contributed to thermal management in electronic components and energy-efficient sustainable design of thermal systems. His current research interests include: 3-D embedded thermal management using digital microfluidics, thermal ground planes, portable evaporative refrigerator for vaccine delivery, enhancing multiple effect distillation (MED) by microporous coating, and superhydrophilic nanoporous coating process by nucleation.

Dr. Terry V. Baughn

Dr. Terry V. Baughn joined UT Dallas in August 2013 as a senior lecturer in the Mechanical Engineering Department. Dr. Baughn received his bachelor's and master's degrees from Purdue University in Aeronautics, Astronautics and Engineering Sciences. After working for E.I. DuPont from 1967 to 1970 he returned to graduate school and earned his PhD from the University of Delaware in the Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering Department in 1973. After completing his doctorate, Dr. Baughn gained additional industry experience while employed at General Motors and International Harvester Truck Division. In 1982 he joined the faculty of Southern Methodist University holding the position of associate professor in the Mechanical Engineering Department. After leaving SMU in 1989, Dr. Baughn joined the technical staff of Texas Instruments in Dallas, TX. In 1997, Texas Instruments sold the military electronics division to Raytheon. Dr. Baughn was an Engineering Fellow with Raytheon where he was responsible for the structural and thermal analysis of RF electronic products and concepts. His area of specialization was in the application of nonlinear structural analysis to the thermo-mechanical failure of electronic components. He retired from Raytheon in December of 2012. He is a Fellow of ASME.